Winners of the Medard M. Welch Award


The Medard W. Welch  Award was established in 1969 to commemorate the pioneering efforts of M.W. Welch in the founding and support of the American Vacuum Society.  Its purpose is to recognize and encourage outstanding theoretical or experimental research in the fields of interest to the AVS.  The Award consists of a cash award, currently $10,000, a solid gold medal struck with a profile of Mr. Welch on one side and the classic Magdeburg hemispheres scene on the other, a certificate and an honorary lectureship at the International Symposium Nominees must have accomplished outstanding theoretical or experimental research within the ten years preceding the year in which the award is given.

1970           Erwin W. Mueller
“For work including the development of field electron and field ion microscopy.”

1971           Gottfried K. Wehner
“For his pioneering work in the field of sputtering, which has profoundly influenced many other scientists and engineers.”

1972           Kenneth C.D. Hickman
“For his contributions in the development of condensation pumps and their working fluids and, in particular, for his discovery of the self-fractionating principle which has made these pumps possible.”   

1973           Lawrence A. Harris
“For his pioneering work in the field of Auger electron spectroscopy. Dr. Harris was responsible for the key publication recognizing the potential of Auger electron spectroscopy as a surface analytical tool which he developed and demonstrated. His contribution has had far-reaching impact on the field of surface science and related technical activities.”

1974           Homer D. Hagstrum
“For pioneering contributions to ultrahigh vacuum studies of solid surfaces, especially the incorporation into a single vacuum chamber of multiple experimental measurements on controlled, individual surfaces;  the development of an experimental technique to measure with high precision the energy distribution of electrons ejected from surfaces by the neutralization of slow ions; and the conversion of this technique into a spectroscopy of the electronic structure of well-characterized solid surfaces by virtue of his elucidation of the nature of the physical mechanism of this neutralization process.”

1975           Paul A. Redhead
“In recognition of his distinguished contributions to the science of low pressure measurement and his far-reaching research on the properties and behavior or absorbed species.”

1976           Leslie Holland
“In recognition of his many important contributions to vacuum technology and to thin film and surface sciences.”

1977           Charles B. Duke
“For far-reaching theoretical contributions to surface science and solid state physics in the areas of low energy electron diffraction, electron tunneling and the electronic structure of large organic molecules.”

1978           Georg H. Hass
“For techniques of preparation and characterization of thin films for optical coatings of importance to solar energy, space technology, and electro-optics.”

1979           Gert Ehrlich
“For contributions to our understanding of the microscopic force laws by which atoms residing on solid surfaces interact with the substrate and with each other.”

1980           No Award

1981           Harrison E. Farnsworth
“For his pioneering studies of the preparation, structural characterization, and properties of atomically clean surfaces.”

1982           No Award

1983           H.H. Wieder
“For his contributions to growth of thin semiconductor single crystal films and, most importantly, for research leading toward III-V MOS technology.”

1984           William E. Spicer
“For his contributions to the development and application of photoelectron spectroscopy in the study of the electronic structure and chemical properties of solids and their surfaces and interfaces.”

1985           Theodore E. Madey
“For his investigation of surface processes at a fundamental atomic and molecular level, especially the determination of absorbed molecule bonding geometries.”

1986           Harald Ibach
“For the development of high-resolution electron energy loss spectroscopy and its applications to the characterization of surfaces and absorbates.”

1987           Mark J. Cardillo
“For his innovative and pioneering research on the interaction of molecular beams with surfaces.”

1988           Peter Sigmund
“For theoretical contributions to the field of physical sputtering and related phenomena.”

1989           Robert Gomer
“For pioneering contributions to surface science, including definitive studies on the theory and application of field emission, chemisorption, and desorption phenomena.”

1990           Jerry M. Woodall
“For seminal contributions to compound semiconductor science and technology.”

1991           Max G. Lagally
“For outstanding contributions to the quantitative understanding of defects with respect to ordering and growth of surface structures.”

1992           Ernst Bauer
“For his contributions to the fundamental understanding of thin film nucleation and growth and for his invention, development, and use of multiple surface characterization techniques to study those thin films.” 

1993           George Comsa
“For seminal discoveries and investigations in vacuum and surface science, in particular the extensive development of thermal-energy atom scattering for the structural analysis of surfaces.”

1994           John T. Yates, Jr.
“For the development and use of modern measurement methods to provide insights into the behavior of chemisorbed species on metal and semiconductor surfaces.”


1995           Gerhard  Ertl

“For excellence in the use of modern methods for developing key concepts important in surface chemistry.”


1996           Peter J. Fiebelman

"For his insightful predictions and explanation of surface phenomena based on first principles calculations."


1997           Phaedon Avouris

"For his seminal contributions to the understanding of the chemistry of semiconductor surfaces and for his development of the STM as a tool for probing and inducing surface chemical reactions with atomic scale resolution and control."


1998           David E. Aspnes

"For novel applications and creative development of optical methods and effects for research on thin films, surfaces and interfaces which have significantly advanced the understanding of electronic materials and processes."


1999           John H. Weaver

"For his seminal contributions to the atomic-level understanding of thin film growth, interfacial interactions, and etching."


2000           D. Phillip Woodruff

"For contributions to the understanding of the geometric properties of clean and adsorbate-decorated surfaces, and for innovative development of surface science techniques."


2001           Ward Plummer

“For the development of novel instrumentation, its use to illuminate new concepts in the surface physics of metals, and the mentoring of promising young scientists.”


2002           Buddy D. Ratner

“For innovative research on biomaterial interfaces and establishing the field of biomaterials surface science.”


2003           Matthias Scheffler

 “For developing Density Functional Theory methods to describe surface chemical reactions and enabling their widespread use.”