The 44th Conference on the Physics and Chemistry of Surfaces and Interfaces (PCSI-44) will be held at the La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe, New Mexico, from Sunday afternoon, January 15, through Thursday noon, January 19.

The annual PCSI conference is devoted to achieve a fundamental understanding of the physical, chemical, biological, structural, optical, magnetic and electrical properties of surfaces and interfaces. These studies include novel growth processes and interfacial phenomena, new characterization tools, transport, and functionality of the structures for future devices.

Generous amounts of discussion time will be included in the program in order to emphasize the workshop character and to stimulate the exchange of new ideas.


Conference Focus Areas

The abstract deadline is October 14, 2016. Later abstracts will be accepted, if space is available.

  • Multiferroic materials
  • Graphene and other 2D materials
  • Energy storage and generation
  • Nanostructures for electronics & photonics
  • Semiconductor heterostructures & interfaces
  • Organic electronics and photonics
  • Spintronics & spin transport
  • High-k dielectrics on semiconductors
  • Nanoscale contacts on semiconductors and oxides
  • Epitaxial oxide heterostructures
  • Multifunctional heterostructures & interfaces
  • Carrier transport and optical properties
  • New imaging and spectroscopy tools
  • Topological insulators

Program Committee and Chairs

Program Committee Chair:
Paul M. Koenraad
E-mail: P.M.Koenraad@tue.nl 

General Chair:
Chris Palmstrøm

JVST Special Issue Editor:
Rudy Ludeke

Program Committee:

  • A. Bhattacharya, Argonne National Laboratory
  • L. Brillson, The Ohio State University
  • S. Crooker, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • A. Demkov, Univ. of Texas, Austin
  • C. Eddy, Naval Research Laboratory
  • M. Flatté, University of Iowa
  • J. Hilton, Mantis
  • H. Ishii, Chiba University
  • H. Hwang, Stanford
  • K. Kavanagh, Simon Fraser University
  • R. Kawakami, The Ohio State University
  • P. Koenraad, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • W. Lampert, Rice University
  • L. Lauhon, Northwestern University
  • R. Ludeke, IBM
  • C. McConville, RMIT University
  • A. Mikkelsen, Lund University
  • R. Myers, The Ohio State University
  • C. J. Palmstrøm, University of California at Santa Barbara
  • H. Riechert, Paul Drude Institute
  • J. Rowe, University of North Carolina
  • N. Samarth, Penn State University
  • Y. Suzuki, Stanford University
  • A. Talin, Sandia National Laboratory
  • A. Toriumi, University of Tokyo
  • P. Varanasi, Army Research Office
  • R. Wallace, University of Texas, Dallas
  • E. Yu, University of Texas at Austin
  • J. Zhu, Penn State University

Conference Information and Office

Della Miller

110 Yellowstone Dr., Suite 120
Chico CA 95973

Phone: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487


Platinum Sponsor

SVT Associates, Inc.

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

E-Science, Inc.