Pacific Rim Symposium on Surfaces, Coatings and Interfaces (PacSurf 2014)

Platinum Sponsor


Gold Sponsor


Silver Sponsor


Bronze Sponsor



Technical Sponsor

Della Miller
110 Yellowstone Dr.,
Suite 120
Chico, CA 95973

Phone: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487


General Information

Overview & Focus
The Pacific Rim Symposium on Surfaces, Coatings and Interfaces (PacSurf 2016) will be held on the Big Island of Hawaii from December 11 - 15, 2016. This conference is being organized by AVS (United States) with a Steering Committee composed of representatives from Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Japan, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, and Taiwan. Symposium attendees will interact during morning and evening sessions that will include plenary, invited, and contributed presentations.

The main topics for PacSurf 2016 will be focused on the latest advances in Biomaterial Surfaces & Interfaces, Energy Harvesting & Storage,  Nanomaterials, and Thin Films. We will have morning and evening technical sessions with the afternoons free for other activities and discussions. 

The conference will be held in the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, which is ideally located on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii.  We are confident you will benefit by attending PacSurf 2016 and networking with the other attendees.

Steering Committee

General Chair:
Dave Castner (Univ. of Washington)

Program Chair:
Charles R. "Chip" Eddy, Jr.,  (U.S. Naval Research Lab)

Australia: Sally McArthur
Canada: Adam Hiitchcock
P.R. China: Hongjun Gao
Japan: Katsuyuki Fukutani
Korea: Tae Geol Lee
Mexico: Alberto Herrera Gomez
New Zealand: Duncan McGillivray
Singapore: Sam Zhang
Taiwan: Jinn Chu
United States: Joe Greene

Program Committee

Biomaterial Surfaces & Interfaces:

  • Lara Gamble, University of Washington, USA
  • Hans Griesser, University of South Australia, Australia
  • Mathias Lösche, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Sally McArthur, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Duncan McGillivray, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Carla Meledandri, University of Otago, New Zealand

Energy Harvesting & Storage:

  • Chris Bowen, University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • David Mitlin, Clarkson University, USA
  • Thomas Nann, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
  • Jun Yoshinobu, University of Tokyo, Japan


  • Rose Amal, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Zheng Hu, Nanjing University, China
  • Se-Jung Oh, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Jaime Santoyo Salazar, CINVESTAV, Mexico
  • Adam Schwartzberg, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, USA

Thin Films:

  • Eric Chason, Brown University, USA
  • Satoshi Hamaguchi, Osaka University, Japan
  • Alberto Herrera Gomez, CINVESTAV, Mexico
  • Anotonio Mei, Intel, USA
  • Joerg Patscheider, EMPA, Switzerland
  • Beatriz Roldan Cuenya, Rurh-University Bochum, Germany
  • Shihe Yang, Hong Kong University of S&T, Hong Kong, China


© Copyright 2016 PACSURF