The 2017 International Conference on Frontiers of Characterization and Metrology for Nanoelectronics (FCMN) will be held at the Monterey Marriott in Monterey, CA, March 21-23, 2017.

The FCMN will bring together scientists and engineers interested in all aspects of the characterization technology needed for nanoelectronic materials and device research, development, and manufacturing. All approaches are welcome: chemical, physical, electrical, magnetic, optical, in-situ, and real-time control and monitoring. The conference will summarize major issues and provided critical reviews of important semiconductor techniques needed as the semiconductor industry moves to silicon nanoelectronics and beyond.

The conference consists of formal invited presentation sessions and poster sessions for contributed papers. The poster papers cover new developments in characterization and metrology especially at the nanoscale. The conference series began 1995 and is the 11th conference in the series.

2017 FCMN Brochure (PDF)
Sponsorship and Exhibitor Form (PDF)
Past Conferences Publications/Talks


"There were a total of 34 talks and 81 poster presentations that summarized major issues and provided critical reviews of crucial semiconductor developments and techniques needed as the industry evolves to silicon nanoelectronics and beyond."
-Alex Braun, "A Jaunt Through Nanotechnopolis," Semiconductor International.

"If you want to meet, greet, and learn from the world's experts in metrology, this is the place to be."
-Dan Hutcheson, The Chip Insider.

Program Committee and Chairs

Technical Contact:
David Seiler


Publication Contact:
Erik Secula

Program Co-Chairs:

  • Alain Diebold, CNSE, SUNY Polytechnic Institute
  • Zhiyong Ma, Intel
  • Robert McDonald (Treasurer)
  • David Seiler, NIST

Program Committee:

  • Amal Chabli, CEA-Leti
  • Luigi Colombo, Texas Instruments
  • Michael Current, Current Scientific
  • Ajey Jacob, Globalfoundries
  • Scott List, SRC
  • Shifeng Lu, formerly of Micron
  • Ulrich Mantz, Zeiss
  • Lori Nye, formerly of Brewer Science
  • Yaw Obeng, NIST
  • Shinichi Ogawa, AIST
  • Lothar Pfitzner, Fraunhofer IISB
  • Erik Secula, NIST
  • Wilman Tsai, TSMC
  • Wilfried Vandervorst, Imec
  • Usha Varshney, NSF
  • Vic Vartanian, SUNY Polytechnic Institute
  • Ehrenfried Zschech, Fraunhofer

Conference Information and Office

Della Miller

110 Yellowstone Dr., Suite 120
Chico CA 95973

Phone: 530-896-0477
Fax: 530-896-0487


Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors