ALD 2008 Header

AVS Information

Registration is now closed and meeting rooms are at capacity. Onsite registration will be very limited based on cancellations and no shows and is not guaranteed. The ALD 2013 DVD containing the audio-recorded presentations may still be ordered by e-mailing or calling 530-896-0477.

Beauty on the BayThe AVS Topical Conference on Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD 2013) will be a three-day meeting (preceded by one day of tutorials), dedicated to the science and technology of atomic layer controlled deposition of thin films. Atomic layer deposition (ALD) is used to fabricate ultrathin and conformal thin film structures for many semiconductor and thin film device applications. A unique attribute of ALD is that it uses sequential self-limiting surface reactions to achieve control of film growth in the monolayer or sub-monolayer thickness regime. ALD is receiving attention for its potential applications from advanced electronics, microsystems, and displays to energy capture and storage, solid state lighting, biotechnology, security, and consumer products - particularly for any advanced technologies that require control of film structure in the nanometer or sub-nanometer scale.

ALD 2013 will feature a special focus on Industrialization of ALD, comprising a parallel track of sessions devoted to the technical and strategic challenges involved in moving ALD into products and competitive manufacturing across a wide variety of applications. ALD's unique capabilities promote tremendous diversity in potential applications with value for specialized, custom applications as well as mass manufacturing. Abstract submissions are encouraged in areas such as ALD manufacturability, equipment design, modeling and simulation, sensing and advanced process control, high throughput strategies, and emerging ALD applications to supplement a group of invited talks in these sessions.

As in past conferences, the presentations will follow an all-electronic format, and electronic copies of the presentations (including oral component, and questions and answers) will be made available in the form of copy-secured DVDs.

Invited Speakers

  • Nanostructured Interfaces for Energy Conversion Reactions
    Julien Bachman (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg)

  • Cycle-by-cycle growth simulations and the cooperation between adsorbate molecules in ALD
    M. Shirazi (Tyndall)

  • Atomic Layer Deposition from Development to Commercialization
    Steve George (University of Colorado)

  • Initial Growth of Ru Thin Films by Atomic Layer Deposition
    Seung Keun Kim (KIST)

  • Dual Passivation for ALD Gate Oxide Nucleation on III-V Surfaces
    Andrew Kummel (UCSD)

  • Layer-by-layer Designed And Deposited Multifunctional Inorganic-organic Hybrid Materials,
    Karppinen Maarit (Aalto)

  • High-k and Metal Gate Technology for 3D and Emerging Devices
    Atif Noori (AMAT)

  • Impact of Different Dopant Material on the Ferroelectric Properties of ALD HfO2
    Uwe Schroeder (Namlab)

  • ALD Metal Processes and the Challenges in their Introduction into BEOL Interconnect Metallization
    Oscar Van der straten (IBM)

  • Recent Advancements in ALD Dielectric Integration with Graphene
    Virginia Wheeler (NRL)

  • Precursors and Processes for the Growth of Metallic First Row Transition Metal Films by Atomic Layer Deposition, Chuck Winter (Wayne)

  • Analytic solution to the Problem of ALD Growth in Cross-flow Reactors: Surface Coverage, Saturation Curves, and Scale-up, Angel Yanguas-Gil (Argonne)

  • III-V 3D Transistors Enabled by ALD
    Peide Ye (Purdue)

  • Advanced ALD Materials and Equipment Design for High-volume Production of Next Generation Memory Devices, B. Lu (Aixtron)

  • Unusual ALD Behaviors in Oxides and Chalcogenides
    Cheol Sung Hwang (Seoul National University)


Sponsor/Exhibit Form (PDF)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Conference Chairs
Jiyoung Kim
University of Texas at Dallas

Paul Ma
Applied Materials

Technical Program Committee 2013

  • James Clarke, Intel

  • Annelies Delabie, IMEC, Belgium

  • Christophe Detavernier, University of Ghent, Belgium

  • Charles Dezelah, Picosun USA LLC, USA

  • Christian Dussarat, Air Liquide, USA

  • Jeffrey Elam, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

  • Simon Elliott, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland

  • Chris Hodson, Oxford Instruments, UK

  • Ravi Kanjolia, SAFC Hitech, USA

  • Hyungjun Kim, Yonsei University, Korea

  • Mato Knez, Nanogune, Spain

  • Ana Londergan, Qualcomm, USA

  • Ola Nilsen, University of Oslo, Norway

  • Kornelius Nielsch, University of Hamburg, Germany

  • Dea-Gyu Park, IBM

  • Nicola Pinna, University of Aviero, Portugal

  • Matti Putkonen, Aalto University. Finland

  • Uwe Schroeder, Namlab, Germany

  • Ganesh Sundaram, Ultratech

  • David Thompson , Applied Materials

  • Charles Winter, Wayne State University, USA

  • Peide (Peter) Ye, Purdue University, USA


 International Advisory Committee 2013

  • Yves Chabal, University of Texas at Dallas, USA

  • James Engstrom, Cornell University, USA

  • Steven M. George, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA

  • Roy Gordon, Harvard University, USA

  • Suvi Haukka, ASM, Finland

  • Hyeongtag Jeon, Hanyang University, Korea

  • Erwin Kessels, University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands

  • Sang In Lee, Synos Technology, USA

  • Markku Leskelä, University of Helsinki, Finland

  • Gregory N. Parsons, North Carolina State University, USA

  • Sasangan Ramanathan, Aixtron, USA

  • Shi-Woo Rhee, POSTECH, Korea

  • Gary Rubloff, Maryland NanoCenter, USA

  • Stephen Rossnagel, IBM, USA

  • Cheol Seong Hwang, Seoul National University, Korea

return to top

 Overview | Housing | Call for Abstracts | Workshops | Registration | Exhibit-Sponsorship | Program | Contacts

Platinum Sponsors:


General Sponsors:

Sponsor/Exhibit Form